Experienced Bricks and LEED

There is potential for earning LEED points in the following categories: Materials Reuse, Recycled Content, Regional Materials, Storm Water Design and Heat Island Effect categories.

MRc3.2: Materials Reuse
MRc4.1: Recycled Content
MRc5.1: Regional Materials
SSc6.1: Storm Water Design
SSc7.0: Heat Island Effect

About LEED

leedLeadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEED) is an internationally recognized green building certification system, providing third-party verification that a building or community was designed and built using strategies intended to improve performance in metrics such as energy savings, water efficiency, CO2 emissions reduction, improved indoor environmental quality, and stewardship of resources and sensitivity to their impacts.

Developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED is intended to provide building owners and operators a concise framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions.

The Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI) was established by USGBC to provide a series of exams to allow individuals to become accredited for their knowledge of the LEED rating system. This is recognized through either the LEED Accredited Professional (LEED AP) or LEED Green Associate (LEED GA) designation. GBCI also provides third-party certification for projects pursuing LEED.

How does LEED work?

LEED certification provides independent, third-party verification that a building, home or community was designed and built using strategies aimed at achieving high performance in key areas of human and environmental health: Sustainable site development, water savings, energy efficiency, materials selection and indoor environmental quality.

Prerequisites & Credits

Each category in a LEED rating system consists of prerequisites and credits.  Prerequisites are required elements, or green building strategies that must be included in any LEEDcertified project. Credits are optional elements, or strategies that projects can elect to pursue to gain points toward LEED certification.  LEED prerequisites and credits work together to provide a common foundation of performance and a flexible set of tools and strategies to accommodate the circumstances of individual projects.

Points & Levels of Certification

LEED rating systems generally have 100 base points plus six Innovation in Design points and four Regional Priority points, for a total of 110 points (LEED for Homes is based on a 125-point scale, plus 11 Innovation in Design points).  Each credit is allocated points based on the environmental impacts and human benefits of the building-related impacts that it addresses.  Projects achieve certification if they earn points according to the following levels:

  • Certified: 40–49 points
  • Silver: 50–59 points
  • Gold: 60–79 points
  • Platinum: 80+ points

Take Pride in LEED!

Professionals to individual homeowners, can take pride in the fact that you're installing a "green" product and are playing an integral part in the "renew, reuse, recycle" movement that will benefit the environment, and future generations.


The Symantics of the Reclaimed Brick and Stone Industry

While we call our products reclaimed street brick pavers and cobblestones, others may call them repurposed street brick pavers and cobblestones.  We've also heard them being called recycled street brick pavers and cobblestones.  Then there are those who refer to them as used street brick pavers and cobblestones, antique street brick pavers and cobblestones ... and even salvaged street brick pavers and cobblestones!

Remember, whatever "green" or sustainable phrase you want to use regarding street brick pavers and cobblestones, Experienced Brick and Stone has it.  [ ask us ]